It has been a long journey as March marches on…my big UFO finish.

One of my favorite things to do is work with scraps.  Generally speaking the fabric is “free”, as more often than not the scraps are left over from a project already cut, or long forgotten, or maybe even complete. Using these little random pieces is a wonderful exercise for me to help stretch the way I think about color and pattern.   The thrifty block is the perfect instrument for this as it is simple (straight line sewing), takes very little fabric, and works up quickly. Once you get started making these little darlings, they become addictive.  The block pattern for Thrifty can be found at http://www.quilt.com/BlockOfTheMonth/1998/Thrifty.html.

DSCN2416

During the times when I may feel creatively “dry”, I can bang out a few of these til I get my mojo back. Once started they will pile up and before long there are enough for a pillow, but that was so fun and easy more get made, and there is a table runner.

DSCN2392

As the scraps start to call and dozens of these blocks magically appear before you know it there is enough for a quilt. And then what became of that dry time, well it really wasn’t dry at all was it? And while I’m doing this type of sewing I’m pondering and thinking creatively of other projects I may like to start or finish or do differently.

5-1-123-19-13 Diane's workshop 020

Often I’ll do a couple when I am working on another project.  Using the scraps from a current project on something that will get finished down the line.  Several of the blocks in this quilt were completed over five years ago.  Little then did I realize what a magical project I was working on at the time.

Has this even put a dent in my scrap box?  Not really, so stay tuned to see what else I’ve gotten out of the box.

Ohhh, and this is my March UFO.

About divadiversion

Creative procrastinator. Cock eyed optimist. Quilt topper, project starter. Quilt Coach. Scrapbooker, card maker. Modern vintage. Wino. Ahhhh the fabric. Paper paper paper. Let's go somewhere. Homebody. Conflicted? Cook.
This entry was posted in Accomplishments, Pinterest, Quilting, Resolve, Scraps, Thrifty Block, UFO's, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It has been a long journey as March marches on…my big UFO finish.

  1. Annie Morgan says:

    Great idea, Diane. I have hundreds of cut 1-1/2″ squares just waiting for this!

  2. nkneedlework says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog. Love your work

  3. What a lovely blog and a fab project. Thanks for sharing. Now I must “follow” 🙂 Avis x

Leave a Reply

